Welcome to the MINE research group 


  • Siwen Guo
  • Winfried Höhn
  • Ekaterina Kamlovskaya (PhD student; as of May 2017)
  • NEW (January 2017):
    • N.N. (PostDoc sought: Machine Learning Methods for Natural Language Processing; job announcement follows; begin in September 2017)
    • N.N. (PhD candidate sought: Emotion Detection in Luxembourgish Texts (with RTL Luxembourg); job announcement follows; begin in September 2017; candidate should have profound knowledge in Luxembourgish)
  • Christoph Schommer (Head)
  • Isabelle Schroeder (Secretariat)

Research Interests

  • Data Science in general
  • Computational Intelligence
  • Machine Learning and Applications, in particular Deep Learning
  • Emotion Detection in Texts
  • Artificial Companions

Current Projects

  • DHHDigital History and Hermeneutics (internal) - Doctoral Training Unit (as of March 2017)
  • STRIPS - A Semantic Search Toolbox for the Retrieve of Similar Patterns in Luxembourgish Documents (as of September 2017)

Current Courses

  • Database Management I (BINFO)
  • Database Management II (BINFO)
  • Natural Language Processing (BICS)
  • Data Science for Humanities (BICS)
  • Information Retrieval and Learning (MICS)
  • Knowledge Discovery and Data Mining (MICS)
  • Machine Learning (MICS)
  • Data Science (MMATH)

Former Members

  • Dr. Dimitrios Kampas: Topic Identification considering word order in Markov Chains.
  • Dr. Sviatlana Höhn: Data-driven repair models for text chat with language learners.
  • Dr. Mihail Minev (2014): Feature Detection and Classification in Financial News.
  • Dr. Jayanta Poray (2012): INACS -- An Intelligent and Adaptive Systems for Conversational Streams.
  • Dr. Sascha Kaufmann (2010): CUBA -- Artificial Conviviality and User Behaviour Analysis.
  • Dr. Maria Biryukov (2010): Methods of Extracting Meta-Information from Bibliographic Databases.
  • Dr. Michael Hilker (2008): Network Security through Artificial Immunity with SANA.
  • Dr. Alejandro Correa Bahnsen (2012-2014)
  • Dr. Patrice Caire (11/2006 - 10/2007)
  • Dipl.-Inf. Ralph Weires (04/2006 - 03/2008)
  • MSc. Ben Schroeder (10/2005 - 09/2007)
  • MSc. Fabien Bouleau

Last updated on: 21 Feb 2017