Home // FDEF // News // Prof. André Prüm appointed to European Banking Authority

Prof. André Prüm appointed to European Banking Authority

twitter linkedin facebook email this page
Published on Thursday, 18 October 2018

The European Banking Authority (EBA) has appointed professor and founding Dean of the Faculty of Law, Economics and Finance, André Prüm, to its Banking Stakeholder Group as a top-ranked academic in the field.

Established in 2011, the EBA is an independent EU authority that works on ensuring effective and consistent regulation and supervision across the European banking sector. As part of its mission, it contributes to the creation of a European-wide single rulebook for the sector.

Within its governance structure, the EBA has founded the Banking Stakeholder Group counting 30 members from credit and investment institutions, representatives or employees and SMEs, consumers and users of financial services, and academics. The group submits opinions and advice to the EBA and is consulted on actions relating to technical standards, guidelines and recommendations and their implementation. The group may also submit a request to investigate alleged violations of non-application of EU law.

Prof. André Prüm was appointed to the group as a member representing academic expertise in the field in Europe starting October 2018 for a period of two and a half years. Among other areas, Prof. Prüm specialises in banking and financial law, business law, company law and securities regulation.

“As a member of EBA’s Banking Stakeholder Group I will be in a privileged position to closely follow the most recent evolutions of Europe’s banking regulations and gain a deeper understanding of the increasingly complex environment in which banks are compelled to operate,” Prof. Prüm commented.  “I see this as a unique opportunity to contribute to the discussions on these rules and standards and to enrich my research in and teaching of European banking law to which I have dedicated a substantial part of my academic career.”

The Faculty would like to congratulation Prof. Prüm on his nomination to the stakeholder group.