Home // FDEF // News // Students recognised at Moot Court Ceremony

Students recognised at Moot Court Ceremony

twitter linkedin facebook email this page
Published on Tuesday, 28 June 2022

On 31 May 2022, the Department of Law at the Faculty of Law, Economics and Finance (FDEF) in partnership with Clifford Chance held an award ceremony to celebrate the Uni.lu Moot Court teams’ contributions during the 2021–2022 academic year.

After the height of the pandemic, it was a time to mark a special occasion by bringing the members of the Uni.lu Moot Court Community together in person at the Clifford Chance Luxembourg offices. Students, coaches, professors, lawyers and other colleagues involved in the Uni.lu Moot Court programme greatly enjoyed the opportunity to share in celebration.

Steve Jacoby, Office Managing Partner of Clifford Chance Luxembourg, and Professor Herwig Hofmann, Head of the Department of Law, delivered warm welcome speeches that underlined the significance of this mooting experience in legal training. Moot Court Coordinator at the University of Luxembourg, Dr Susana Muñoz, highlighted the strengths, achievements and challenges of this Moot Court season. She focused on the moot-specific skills that students gained during the competitions, including the non-competitive, intellectual dimensions of this experiential learning. She expressed satisfaction and gratitude for the mooters’ successes, commitment and hard work during these months, both individually and as members of a team.

(Pictured from left to right: Prof. Herwig Hofmann and Dr. Susana Muñoz from Uni.lu addressing the participants with Clifford Chance Office Managing Partner Steve Jacoby)

Students were awarded a Certificate of Appreciation signed by the Dean of the FDEF, Professor Katalin Ligeti, in recognition of their contribution to the following Moot Court competitions: Concours européen des droits de l’homme René Cassin, European Law Moot Court Competition, International and European Tax Moot Court Competition, International Criminal Court Moot Court Competition, Manfred Lachs Space Law Moot Court Competition, and Monroe E Price Media Law Moot Court Competition.

(Ahmad Mafaz Syrus, pictured left, received the distinction of Best Individual Applicant at the International and European Tax Moot Court)

The Uni.lu Moot Court coaches also received recognition for their continuous engagement with the teams. Finally, special thanks were extended to the lawyers at Clifford Chance who held office as judges in the mock mooting sessions with the various Uni.lu teams. The students unanimously appreciated the valuable expertise and support provided by our partner.

The ceremony was followed by a reception that enabled discussions in a friendly and congenial atmosphere.


Congratulations to the Uni.lu Moot Court teams!

Learn more about the University of Luxembourg Moot Court Programme and our partnership with Clifford Chance.