Home // Studies // ECTS credits

ECTS credits

ECTS is an acronym and stands for “European Credit Transfer System”. It is a unit used to grade diplomas in all participating countries.

An ECTS describes the total workload (class units, fieldwork, laboratory work, internships, dissertation work, library research…) and replaces traditional class hours.

The ECTS system guarantees academic recognition of studies abroad, providing a way of measuring and comparing the student’s academic achievements and transferring them from one institution to another, and even from one country to another.

1 credit =

25 to 30 hours of work

One academic year =

36 to 40 weeks
60 credits
1500 to 1800 hours of work

Bachelor/licence =

180 to 240 credits

Master =

60 to 120 credits

Doctorate =

Number of credits to be defined



  • Credits can be capitalised, compensated and transferred in the whole of Europe.
  • Credits are attached to the hours spent in lectures as well as personal work, dissertation work, internships, etc.
  • A student organises his academic studies in accordance with his project.

Consequences for the qualification: adaptability and flexibility

  • The reform allows the training to be adapted to all learning rhythms.
  • No longer does a degree consist of years but of credits.
  • The use of ECTS enhances lifelong learning.
  • The promotion of new technologies is another goal, aiming at reducing in-class learning and increasing self-tuition and hence providing the student with more autonomy.
  • Bachelor’s curricula should be less specialised and more open.
(Source: http://www.mcesr.public.lu/enssup/dossiers/bologne/processus_bologne.pdf )