Home // Research // FSTM // DPHYMS // Research Areas // Spectroscopy & Functional Materials

Spectroscopy & Functional Materials


The NanoMagnetism Group





The research of the Michels group is centered around the technique of magnetic small-angle neutron scattering (SANS). Experimental,  theoretical, and simulation work is carried out in order to understand and develop the fundamentals of magnetic SANS. Studied materials  include Nd-Fe-B magnets, Mn-Bi rare-earth-free magnets, Heusler-type alloys, nanocomposites, magnetic nanoparticles, and steels.

Group Leader: Associate Prof. Andreas Michels

Multifunctional Ferroic Materials





The Multifunctional Ferroic Materials group (MFM) is devoted to experimental investigations of crystalline matter by means of solid state  spectroscopy methods, with a particular focus on new and original phase transitions, excitations, coupling phenomena, or active tuning of  material properties.

Group Leader: Prof. Jens Kreisel and Assistant Prof. Maël Guennou

Ultrafast Condensed Matter Physics





The Ultrafast Condensed Matter Physics (UCMP) aims at the investigation of fundamental phenomena occurring in matter at ultrashort  timescale. For this reason, we develop innovative ultrafast systems and techniques with the ultimate goal to understand and control how light  interacts with matter to unveil the microscopic origin of the properties of materials that are of high technological interest.

Group Leader: Prof. Daniele Brida


Scanning Probe Microscopy Laboratory





Scanning Probe Microscopy (SPM) methods are ideal to study the properties of functional materials on the nanoscale. At the SPM laboratory, technologically relevant semiconductors such as for example hybrid perovskites, chalcopyrites and 2D materials are synthesized and analyzed with different scanning probe and luminescence techniques. We develop new analytical tools and deposition methods to understand how surface and interface properties can be tuned to enhance the performance of functional devices such as for example solar cells.

Group Leader: Associate Prof. Alex Redinger

Laboratory for Energy Materials




The Laboratory for Energy Materials studies the physical and chemical reactions occurring during semiconductor synthesis to better understand how to manipulate the resulting materials’ opto-electrical properties. We are interested in reducing environmental impact, so we investigate semiconductors made from earth abundant non toxic elements, and we research novel low energy synthesis methods. We also research small and semi-transparent solar cell devices for high power conversion efficiency and building integrated applications.

Group Leader: Prof. Phillip Dale


Physics of Advanced Materials





The Laboratory for the Physics of Advanced Materials (LPM) applies macroscopic experimental techniques to investigate thermal and  mechanical properties of matter. The group has active research programs in Brillouin spectroscopy, rheology and ultra-fast calorimetry of  complex fluids, polymers and composites.


Group Leader: Dr. Jörg Baller


Theoretical Solid-State Physics





The TSSP group investigates light-matter interactions on a microscopic scale. We develop and use advanced theoretical and computational methods derived from quantum mechanical first principles to describe the dynamics of electronic and atomic excitations. This enables us to analyze and predict various optical properties, such as absorption, luminescence, and resonant Raman spectra. Recently, the group has focused on a quantitative description of the influence of the electron- and exciton-phonon interaction on these spectroscopic properties. We particularly apply our methods to 2D materials and semiconductors that are interesting for the development of novel opto-electronic devices, such as sensors and solar cells.

Group Leader: Prof. Ludger Wirtz

Theory of Mesoscopic Quantum Systems





The TMQS group investigates quantum phenomena at mesoscopic scales, with a particular focus on nonequilibrium transport, topological  materials and low-dimensional systems, using both analytical and numerical methods.

Group Leader: Prof. Thomas Schmidt

Theory and Simulation of Functional Materials





Le groupe TSFM utilise des méthodes théoriques et de simulation pour étudier les propriétés des matériaux, avec un accent particulier sur les oxydes fonctionnels tels que les ferroélectriques et multiferroïques magnétoélectriques. Nous travaillons à expliquer les phénomènes nouveaux (e.g., les ordres topologiques émergents dans la ferroélectricité) et à concevoir des nanomatériaux avec des propriétés nouvelles ou optimisées (à l'aide d'outils informatiques). Le groupe contribue également au développement de méthodes de simulations à grande échelle qui conservent la précision de mécanique quantique et la puissance prédictive.

Group Leader: Affiliated Prof. Jorge Iniguez


Liquid Crystals and Nanomaterials




Group Leader: Dr. Giusy Scalia