Home // FSTM // News // Professor Susanne Siebentritt received the Paul Wurth 2015 Award

Professor Susanne Siebentritt received the Paul Wurth 2015 Award

twitter linkedin facebook email this page
Published on Wednesday, 18 November 2015

In the frame of the academic session organised by the Institut Grand-ducal on 14 November 2015 at the Chamber of Trade, Professor Susanne Siebentritt received the award "Grand Prix en Sciences Physiques de l’Institut Grand-ducal" also called "Prix Paul Wurth". More than 80 participants attended this event.

For the first time, the prize was awarded to a researcher from the University of Luxembourg. Appointed "TDK Europe Professor" in 2007, Susanne Siebentritt succeeded in very few years building the Laboratory of Photovoltaics with a team of top-level researchers. They realised internationally recognised research in the field of photovoltaics with more than 140 peer reviewed publications and the deposit of 6 patents.

The jury, composed of professors in physics from the Universities of Lorraine, Louvain and Namur, have appreciated the prestigious works and remarkable discoveries of Susanne Siebentritt in the field of photovoltaics.      

In cooperation with the “Fonds National de la Recherche (FNR)” and several private sponsors, the “Section des Sciences Naturelles, physiques et mathématiques de l’Institut Grand-ducal” awards each year a researcher for either its complete work or an exceptional discovery. In 2016, the prize will focus on mathematics.

Picture, from left to right: 
- Georges Rassel, General Director Paul Wurth S.A.
- Lucien Hoffmann, Treasurer Section des Sciences de l'Institut Grand-ducal
- Pierre Seck, President Section des Sciences de l'Institut Grand-ducal
- Susanne Siebentritt, laureate
- Michel Wurth, President Paul Wurth S.A.
- Léon Diederich, Premier Conseiller de Gouvernement du Ministère de l'Enseignement supérieur et de la Recherche
© Institut Grand-ducal