Home // LCSB // Doctoral Tra... // PARK-QC // Partner Institutions

Partner Institutions

Interdisciplinary institutes and departments within the University of Luxembourg (UL):

Luxembourg Center for System Biomedicine (LCSB) is a UL interdisciplinary research centre that bridges gaps between systems biology and medical research. Biologists, computer scientists, medical doctors, mathematicians, and physicists come together under the same roof to tackle questions arising in complex systems such as cells, organisms and organs. LCSB offers an excellent environment and infrastructure for interdisciplinary research. The competences of the groups complement each other. Despite the fact that LCSB is a young institute, founded in 2009, it has already established the legacy of being a contributor in large-scale projects; examples of such are within the domain of neurodegenerative diseases. Since clinical research groups are involved in the programme, it will be assured that clinical and ethical aspects are addressed. The centre also organises conferences, where distinguished researchers come together.

Life Science Research Unit (LSRU) is a UL research unit. Their main focus is the identification of biological processes in human diseases. Insights gained are then used in biomedical applications. Research projects of the Life Science Research Unit often involve the combination of wet lab procedures and bioinformatics analysis.

Partner institutions in Luxembourg:

Luxembourg Institute of Health (LIH) is a newly formed institute (formerly CRP-SANTÉ). It has three large departments: Infection and Immunity, Oncology and Public Health. There are also several competence centres: the Clinical and Epidemiological Investigation Centres, Luxembourg Biomedical Research Resources, and Methodology and Statistics. In addition, the Integrated Biobank of Luxembourg (IBBL) is incorporated under the LIH umbrella. As a biobank infrastructure, IBBL deals with biological specimens (though collection, analysis, processing, and storage) and possesses large quantities of digital data from several clinical research projects. 

Partner Institutions abroad:

University of Tübingen: Doron Rapaport
The Faculty of Science of the University of Tubingen conducts research applying an interdisciplinary approach to current challenges of societal significance. The University offers a variety of majors and fields of study, combining traditional disciplines with modern and ambitious research fields. This strength in research also benefits the roughly 8.900 students of our Faculty. In more than 70 study programs they study the latest research results during the course of their studies.

Eurac research: Ph. D. Andrew A. Hicks
Eurac Research is a private research center headquartered in Bozen, South Tyrol. The center has eleven institutes organized into four research areas: autonomies, mountains, technology and health. Eurac Research has around 200 partners spread across 50 countries. Eurac Research collaborates with international organizations such as the Alpine and Carpathian Conventions, UNEP and UNIDO in the context of sustainable development and energy technology, and also hosts the headquarters of the Permanent Secretariat of the Alpine Convention at its headquarters in Bolzano/Bozen. Core funding is provided by the Autonomous Province of Bolzano/Bozen, with additional financing coming from membership fees and European project funds.

University Medical Center Göttingen: Prof. Dr. Tiago Fleming Outeiro
The Faculty of Medicine and the University Hospital Göttingen together operate under the umbrella "University Medical Center Göttingen". This structure (integration model) provides the organizational basis for the integration of healthcare, teaching, and research in Göttingen. The University Medical Center Göttingen has been managed by a three-member Management Board since 01 May 1999, consisting of the divisions Research and Teaching, Healthcare, and Management and Administration.

EURON Network: The European Graduate School of Neuroscience (EURON) is an international research and training network of eight universities in Belgium, Germany, France, Luxembourg and the Netherlands. In addition EURON has an association with other universities in Czech Republic, Germany, Greece, Japan, Portugal, Turkey, Sri Lanka, China and Korea. The coordinator of EURON is the School for Mental Health and Neuroscience (MHeNs), Faculty of Health, Medicine and Life Sciences (FHML), Maastricht University, The Netherlands. Intensive research relationships have been formed and extended with the EURON partners, as well as the development of the educational PhD programme, through the recognition as Marie Curie Training Site under the 5th and 6th Framework Programme of the European Commission. EURON has been re-accredited by the Royal Dutch Academy of Arts and Sciences (KNAW) for the period 2010-2015. The EURON partners aim to share expertise, knowledge and infrastructure to offer Master and PhD students a unique chance to broaden their research competencies and by stimulating mobility. In addition, EURON strives towards joint PhD degrees between partner universities and towards the accreditation of a joint Master programme in Translational Neuroscience