The ESPON European Spatial Planning Observation Network was established in 2002 by the European Commission in order to support the formulation of territorial development policies in Europe. All EU member states plus Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, Switzerland and the United Kingdom participate in the ESPON programme which is financed by the EU members states and the European Commission (European Regional Development Fund).





The programme is supported by a European wide network of ESPON Contact Points. The main tasks of the ESPON Contact Points are as follows:

  • Communication of ESPON activities and latest developments to stakeholders on national and regional level
  • Support the formation of Transnational Project Groups (TPGs)
  • Inform national and regional stakeholders about ESPON calls and publications
  • Network building activities

The Department of Geography and Spatial Planning is hosting the National Contact Point for Luxembourg and represents Luxembourg's scientific interests in the network.

Coordination: Prof. Dr. Birte Nienaber
Team members: Jutta Bissinger, Greta Szendrei
For more information on the ESPON programme in Luxemburg:
For information relating to the whole ESPON programme: