Home // Research // FHSE // European Gov... // European Governance Universities Network- Jean Monnet Action

European Governance Universities Network- Jean Monnet Action

Network of seven European Universities, financed by Erasmus+ Programme – Jean Monnet "Policy debate with academic world" since july 2016, will contribute to information gathering, debate enhancement, good practice exchange, knowledge acquisition and promotion of the European Governance and European Integration in societies, as well as the dissemination of the results of academic research in the field of European Union studies through the networking of doctoral candidates and graduate students with objects related to European Integration process. The Network acronym is “GovUnet” standing for Governance Universities Network.

The GovUnet partners are:

  1. University of Aegean – Chair Jean Monnet
  2. University of Luxembourg – Chair in Parliamentary Studies
  3. University of Cadiz – Chair Jean Monnet
  4. University of Cluj – Faculty of European Studies
  5. University of Piraeus – Chair Jean Monnet
  6. University of Siegen – Chair ad Personam Jean Monnet
  7. Catholic University of Louvain – Institut de sciences politiques Louvain-Europe
  8. Panteion University– International European and Area Studies Department

The GovUnet actions are:

  1. The Summer school at the University of Aegean will take place from July 10th to July 20th , 2017. The theme selected for 2017 is “Economic and Social Governance in Europe”. The topics selected for 2018 and 2019 will be respectively “The European Union as an International Actor” and “Governance, Citizenship and Immigration in Europe”.(https://govart2016.pns.aegean.gr/govart2016-home).
  2. The Winter school at the University of Luxembourg will be held on from December 13th to December 16th , 2017. The topic chosen is “European Governance and Sovereignty”. The PhD students will be able to earn from 4 to 5 credits. The seminars will be held in English and in French. The topics chosen for 2018 and 2019 will be respectively “Innovations and the Fragility of Democracy in Europe” and “The Europeanisation and the Limits of Political and Legal Order”.
  3. Creation of a Common School of Doctoral Studies. This action, which will include exchange of doctoral candidates, will contribute to the further development of high level research of the University institutions, reinforcement of the cooperation between students, the exchange of expertise in order to mutually enhance good practice and the development of new methodological tools in research.
  4. Organisation of academic sessions (Seminars and Workshops on Governance, Pluralism and Trans-nationalisation in Europe) on an annual basis for doctoral and graduate students, focusing on the promotion and strengthening of European governance (integration at local, national, European and international level).
  5. Creation of an electronic platform (e-platform) to exploit the material produced by the multiple activities of the Network, disseminate results and support the operation of the summer school and the Network of doctoral and graduate students.
  6. Publication of papers and articles in specialized journals and websites so as to promote dialogue and scientific thought on European Governance issues.Exchange of professors with specialisation in European Studies with the aim of improving the quality of professional training among the participating universities.Organisation of two international conferences presenting the research conducted by participating scholars and institutions; contributing to the spreading of values of European Studies to local communities in order to create an added value for the scientific approach of the European Idea.


The first activity has been hold from February 20 to February 27 2017 at the University of the Aegean with the research question: NEW INSTITUTIONAL, SOCIAL & POLITICAL CHALLENGES FOR EUROPE IN CRISIS.

The second activity has been hold from July 10 to 20 July 2017 at the University of the Aegean with the research question: EUROPEAN ECONOMIC & SOCIAL GOVERNANCE. 

 For further information: https://summer-schools.aegean.gr/Govart2017

The third activity has been hold from December 13 to December 16 2017 at the University of the Luxembourg, campus limpertsberg, with the research question : EUROPEAN GOVERNANCE & SOVEREIGNTY. Programme of the Winter School 2017

The fourth activity has been hold from July 9 to 20 July 2018 at the University of the Aegean with the research question: EUROPEAN UNION AS A INTERNATIONAL ACTOR

For further information:  https://summer-schools.aegean.gr/Govart2018 

The fifth activity will be hold  from 4 to 8 December 2018  at the University of Luxembourg, campus Belval, and Couvent des Franciscaines, with the research question: GOVERNANCE & CONSTITUTIOnAL INNOVATIONS AND DEMOCRATIC


For further information: governance@uni.lu