Home // Research // FHSE // European Gov... // Governance(s), Pluralism(s) & Trans-Nationalisation(s) in Europe- Research Project 2016- 2021

Governance(s), Pluralism(s) & Trans-Nationalisation(s) in Europe- Research Project 2016- 2021

The research consortium focuses on the transformation of the political function of democracy in relation to the concepts as well as the practices determining the governance, the pluralization, and the trans-nationalisation agendas within Europe. The aim is to contextually explore and critically assess the contemporary trends in policy decision-making and their effects both at a European and domestic level in respect to: a) The executive, legislative and judiciary process (Governance); b) The organizing and restructuring of the developing social heterogeneity (Pluralism); c) The economic political and social inter-dependency between the European nation-states and the process of their normative integration (Trans-Nationalisation). The thematic research question to be addressed critically is whether these dynamic processes are consistent with the liberal democracy framework and the social justice and peace value system, which have institutionally formed the core features of the political operation of the European Union and the member states, or not.

The research consortium defines as its central research frame the notion of interdisciplinarity. Focusing on the links between Law, Politics and Humanities, but also aiming at crossing their boundaries and thinking across them, the project will combine the following research fields: a) public law, constitutional law, and human rights; b) contemporary history and sociology; c) philosophy and religious studies, and d) political science and political ethics. The aim is to assign and supervise a number of doctoral students coming from different scientific backgrounds, who will develop their PhD theses on the basis of the critical epistemology conceptual framework and via making use of innovative analytical tools from other disciplines as well.

The process of setting the research agenda of the prospective PhDs, as well as the methodological synthesis for elaborating the material (i.e. combining historical criticism with discourse theory and an empirical analysis) will be based on the topic, the potential scientific contribution, as well as the prospective dissemination of the research output. To this end, the composition of the supervisory committee has a clear interdisciplinary character. In particular, while the members of University of Luxembourg as well as its international partners have diverse scientific perspectives and contribute on variant research fields, they all share the critical epistemological paradigm in examining the social developments within the European Union, and they accept the key-role of Governance, Pluralism and Trans-Nationalism for the building and crystallization of the European political identity.

For more information: Philippe Poirier & Johan Van der Walt

External Partners




University of Piraeus

Prof. Ass. Foteini Asderaki

Director of the Laboratory of Education Policy, Research, Development and Interuniversity Cooperation (ERDIC


Universität Siegen- Chair Jean Monnet „ad personam“

Prof. Raphaela Averkorn

Chair Jean Monnet „ad personam“


Luxembourg School of Religion and Society

Prof. Gerhard Beestermöller

Head of the Department of Public Responsibility


Université de Nantes- Institut d"études européennes et globales

Prof. Michel Catala

Directeur de l'Institut d'Etudes Européennes et Globales


Institut d'études politiques de Bordeaux- Centre Emile Durkheim

Prof. Olivier Costa

Directeur de recherche CNRS- Centre d’excellence Jean Monnet


University of Cádiz- Chair Jean Monnet

Prof. Alejandro del Valle Gávlez

Jean Monnet Chair on «Borders and Immigration» of European Union Law


Université de Nantes- Chaire de Philosophie de l’Europe

Prof. Jean Marc Ferry

Chair holder Philosophy of Europe


Université d’Orléans

Prof. Jean Garrigues

Directeur du Comité d'histoire parlementaire et politique


University of the Aegean- Jean Monnet Chair

Prof. Panos Grigoriou

Chair Holder Jean Monnet Dean of Social Sciences Facutly


Université Laval- Chaire de recherche sur la Démocratie et les institutions parlementaires

Prof. François Gélineau

Chair holder- Director of Political Science Department


Università Degli Studi di Torino

Prof. Graziano Lingua

Director of  Philosophy and Education Sciences- Campus of Savigliano


Federal University of Mineas Gerais

Prof. Ricardo Fabrino Mendonça

Research Director at Centro de Estudos Avançados em Democracia Digital


Université Paris-Est- Créteil- Laboratoire interdisciplinaire d'étude du politique - Hannah Arendt

Prof. Yves Palau

Directeur du Laboratoire interdisciplinaire d'étude du politique - Hannah Arendt


Ecole Pratique des Hautes Etudes- Université Paris Sorbonne

Prof. Philippe Portier

Directeur d’études


Universitatea Babes- Bolyai

Prof. Ass Sergiu Miscoiu

Director of International Studies Department


Catholic University of Louvain-Mons- Faculty of Economic, Social, Political, and Communication Sciences

Prof. Pierre Vercauteren

Secretary General of the international research network REGIMEN (Réseau d’Etude sur la Globalisation et la Gouvernance Internationale et les Mutations de l’Etat et des Nations).