Department of Physics and Materials Science


The Department of Physics and Materials Science (DPhyMS) of the University of Luxembourg consists of 19 groups working on a wide range of problems from physics of solid-state, liquid crystals, or living matter, to non-equilibrium thermodynamics, processes in solar cells, quantum mechanical effects, data science, and machine learning. The joint efforts of experimental and theoretical groups result in breakthrough discoveries published in top-level international journals, multiple prestigious EU, ERC and FNR grants, and total external funding of over 6 million Euro per year. The international community of scientists and students, representing all parts of the world creates a unique, friendly, and open-minded environment for research, allowing us to integrate into a multifaceted department both scientifically and culturally. A wide network of collaborations throughout the world opens nearly unlimited possibilities for the advancement of scientific careers.


The Department carries out research activities around five thematic axes:


Alexandre Tkatchenko

DPhyMS at a glance


  • 21 professors
  • 15 research scientists
  • 118 post-docs and doctoral candidates
  • 18 technical and administrative staff


  • 141 peer-reviewed articles in scientific journals (2021)

Campus: Limpertsberg, 162a, avenue de la Faïencerie, L-1511 Luxembourg


Research areas

Latest News

Wednesday, 7 June 2023, 15:00 / Campus Limpertsberg, Bâtiment des Sciences, BS 0.03
Wednesday, 4 October 2023, 12:00 / Campus Limpertsberg, Bâtiment des Sciences, BS 0.03