Home // Research // FSTM // DPHYMS // News & E... // Dept. of Physics & Materials Science and LIST/MRT cohost PhD gathering

Dept. of Physics & Materials Science and LIST/MRT cohost PhD gathering

twitter linkedin facebook email this page
Published on Tuesday, 03 May 2022

In the framework of the Doctoral Programme in Physics and Materials Science (DPPM), the Department of Physics and Materials Science (DPhyMS) of the University of Luxembourg and the Department of Materials Research and Technology at the Luxembourg Institute of Science and Technology (LIST/MRT) invited all PhD candidates, supervisors, and scientists working on related research fields to attend a joint event: a PhD candidate reunion and the DPPM general assembly.

The event, chaired by Prof. Thomas Schmidt (DPPM coordinator) and two doctoral candidate representatives Yiwei Zhang (DPhyMS) and Poorani Gnanasambandan (LIST/MRT) brought together around 100 participants on 21 April 2022 at the Tramsschapp in Luxembourg-City.

Following an introduction by Prof. Thomas Schmidt, Prof. Susanne Siebentritt (DPhyMS delegate) and Dr. Damien Lenoble (head of the LIST/MRT), who congratulated the PhD candidates for their scientific efforts and great achievements, the afternoon started with a keynote presentation by Prof. Jean-Philippe Bouchaud, CEO and Chairman of Capital Fund Management (CFM), on “Economic Crisis: a physicist viewpoint” and continued with presentations by three PhD candidates as well as by three alumni who shared their experiences about transitioning from academia to non-academic jobs.

The talks were followed by the 2022 DPPM General Assembly, where important procedures within the PhD programme were explained to the new PhD students and supervisors, and the updated statutes of the DPPM were approved by the PhD supervisors.

After a poster session, where PhD candidates had the opportunity to present their projects to a large scientific audience, the event ended with a poster award ceremony where the posters of 3 PhD candidates were selected for “Outstanding poster” awards:

  • Mrs. Joana Ferreira for her poster entitled “Co-Evaporation of Tin-Based Perovskite Absorbers”,
  • Mr. Anton Charkin-Gorbulin for his poster entitled “Designing a new generation of quasi-2D solar cell materials using machine learning”,
  • Mr. Barnik Mandal for his poster entitled “Study of HfO2 thin film based heterostructures with optimal functional properties”.