Home // Research // FSTM // DPHYMS // People // Susanne Siebentritt

Prof. Dr. Susanne Siebentritt

Susanne Siebentritt

Full professor

Research Topics Semiconductors, Photovoltaics
Faculty or Centre Faculty of Science, Technology and Medicine
Department Department of Physics and Materials Science
Postal Address Laboratory for photovoltaics
41, rue du Brill
L-4422 Belvaux
Campus Office CRP Lippmann Belval, 1.147-1
Telephone (+352) 46 66 44 6304


Susanne Siebentritt is a physics professor and heads the laboratory for photovoltaics at the University of Luxembourg.

Her research interest is twofold: the development of new thin film solar cells and the semiconductor physics of the materials used in these cells.

She studied physics at the University of Erlangen and received her doctoral degree from the University of Hannover.After several postdoc positions at the University of Los Angeles, the Free University of Berlin and the Hahn-Meitner-Institute (now Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin), she led a group at Hahn-Meitner-Institute for nearly 10 years, which focused on the physics of chalcopyrite solar cells.

In 2007 she moved to Luxembourg and built up the laboratory for photovoltaics.

She is the author of more than 160 peer reviewed publications, with more than 3000 independent citations. In 2014 she received the FNR Outstanding Publication Award, together with three co-authors. In 2015 she was awarded the "Grand Prix en Sciences Physique – Prix Paul Wurth" of the Luxembourgish Institut Grand Ducal. She is a regular topical organiser at the international photovoltaics conferences in Europe and the US. She is a member and vice chair of the scientific council of Science Europe. Since 2016 she is a board member for the Kopernikus projects, a 10 years research programme for the energy transition of the German Ministry of Education and Research.

Last updated on: Tuesday, 04 October 2016

Information on my research interests is found on our group's webpage LPV

Since 2007:

Professor at the University of Luxembourg

Head of Laboratory for Photovoltaics

1998 – 2007

Hahn-Meitner-Institute (now Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin)

Head of MOVPE group

solar cells, epitaxy and defect spectroscopy at chalcopyrites

1996 – 1998

Hahn-Meitner-Institute (now Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin)


ETA solar cells (extremely thin absorber)


Free University Berlin


vibrational spectroscopy of metal and graphite surfaces


University of California, Los Angeles


pulsed laser deposition of metastable semiconductor alloys

1989 – 1993

Institut for solar energy research (ISFH), Hannover/ University of Hannover

PhD student

organic solar cells, carrier generation and transport mechanisms in zinc phthalocyanine

Last updated on: 04 Oct 2016