Home // SnT // News & E... // Cedergren Medal for Björn Ottersten

Cedergren Medal for Björn Ottersten

twitter linkedin facebook google+ email this page
Published on Wednesday, 14 January 2015

In December 2014, the Director of SnT, Professor Björn Ottersten, was awarded the Cedergren Medal by the Board of Governors at KTH - Royal Institute of Technology in Stockholm, Sweden.

The first medal of the Cedergren Foundation was handed over in 1914. Now, a century later, Björn Ottersten received the 12th medal ever. In 1988, the Nobel Prize winner in physics, Hannes Alfvén, was awardee of the medal. Ottersten received the medal at the diploma ceremony in the Stockholm City Hall on 17 December.

The Cedergren Foundation was established in 1909. The fund's returns are used for scholarships to Swedish electro technicians. In addition, a silver medal is awarded to outstanding scientists in electrical engineering. Henrik Tore Cedergren (1853-1909) was the founder of Stockholms Allmänna Telefon AB which merged with LM Ericsson’s company in 1918 to become Allmänna Telefonaktiebolaget L M Ericsson. Today, Ericsson is the world’s largest mobile communication network provider with 35% market share.