Home // University // News // Latest News // University of Luxembourg launches drive to refine digital strategy

University of Luxembourg launches drive to refine digital strategy

twitter linkedin facebook google+ email this page
Published on Thursday, 07 February 2019

The University of Luxembourg has launched an ambitious initiative with the aim to refine its digital strategy and to enhance the positioning of the University in the context of various national and international digital initiatives and mega-trends. 

The University has put in place a Digital Strategy Committee composed of stakeholders from across the University as well as external experts. The committee is co-chaired by Prof. Jens Kreisel, Vice-rector for research, and Prof. Romain Martin, Vice-rector for academic affairs. The committee held its kick-off meeting on 6 February, embarking on a mission to propose building blocks for an enhanced future digital strategy.

“Addressing the opportunities and challenges of digital developments requires close coordination among academic research communities, industries, governments and policy makers. With its holistic view across disciplines, and with its mission of research, education and impact, the University of Luxembourg holds a strategic position at the crossroads of multiple constituencies. This enables the University to support and guide various stakeholders and help address the technological, societal, legal and economic ramifications of digitisation”, states Prof. Stéphane Pallage, Rector of the University of Luxembourg.
The University is looking to respond to various opportunities and challenges arising from digital developments. This includes the pursuit of research in developing digital science technologies, applying them both to fundamental and practical problems, identifying the new skills required for students in the digital world, setting goals for digitally-enhanced teaching and learning, and planning the infrastructure needed to support the new digital missions.

The committee will carry out outside benchmarking for its projects. It is expected to present its conclusions to the University’s Board of governors in July 2019.

The committee is composed of:

  • Co-chairs: Jens Kreisel, Romain Martin
  • Members: Tegawendé Bissyandé, Mark Cole, Andreas Fickers, Yves Le Traon, Vincent Koenig, Reinhard Schneider, Christine Schiltz, Emma Schymanski, Denitsa Stefanova, Alexander Tkatchenko, Leon van der Torre, Lars Wieneke, Jan Beutler, Pascal Bouvry, David Constant, Katharina Hölzle

© Université du Luxembourg / Sophie Margue