Home // University // About the Un... // Governance // Delegate for reasonable accommodation (inclusion officer)

Delegate for reasonable accommodation (inclusion officer)

Following the introduction of the new law in July 2018, Joanna West was designated as the delegate for reasonable accommodation.

In this capacity, she is also a member of the University Council (with a consultative vote).

Her role is established by Art. 11 of the law and includes the creation and presidency of the committee for reasonable accomodation following Art. 38 and 39 of the same law, composed of a member of the rectorate, a programme director by faculty, two members of the student delegation, nominated by the University council. The goal of the committee is to work together to ensure the necessary and appropriate modifications are in place to support students with a specific need concerning their studies and their personal well-being.

The committee is composed as follows:

  • Mme Joanna West (Chair)
  • Mme Catherine Léglu (member of the rectorate)
  • M. Michael Scheuern (programme director of FSTM)
  • M. Luca Ratti (programme director of FDEF)
  • M. Justin Powell (programme director of FHSE)
  • open position (member of the student delegation)
  • open position (member of the student delegation)
  • Mme Michelle Brendel (consultatative vote)
  • M. Arthur Limbach-Reich (consultatative vote)

Joanna is committed to fostering inclusion throughout the 3 campuses - in classrooms, offices, residence halls, laboratories, and every other place where people learn, research and work. She will endeavor to advance the University of Luxembourg’s commitment to a respectful and barrier free working and learning environment.

As part of this work, Joanna invites staff, students and partners to work in collaboration to promote a culture of inclusivity.

Joanna West
Team Leader of Student Services